CITY OF PLEASANTVILLE SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING August 14, 2024 at 4:30PM

Mayor Kody Jurgens opened the meeting with council members Aaron Hurt, Rachel Lopez, Jon Koehn, Kyle Patterson, and Jordan Van Ness present. Jordan Van Ness was present via zoom.

The mayor and council discussed the city administrator position. They discussed whether there is a need for the position or to have the duties managed internally. Attorney, Bob Stuyvesant, explained the council would need to modify the current ordinance if they appoint the current city clerk as the city administrator. Councilman Koehn left the meeting at 4:50pm. The consensus of the council is to appoint the current employees to their positions and determine by December if there is a need to appoint a city administrator. Motion by Hurt, seconded by Patterson to approve Resolution 24-19, approving employee appointments. All voting in favor motion carried.

Motion by Hurt, seconded by Patterson to approve Resolution 24-20, designating depository and authorizing certain officers. All voting in favor motion carried.

Motion by Patterson, seconded by Lopez to approve a \$7.25 per hour wage increase for City Clerk, Rachel Reed on an interim basis for FY 2025, a \$2.88 per hour wage increase for Deputy Clerk, April Schrader on an interim basis for FY 2025, and to approve the Public Works Director, Shawn Breazeale to take the city truck home daily. All voting in favor motion carried.

Motion by Patterson, seconded by Lopez to enter into closed session pursuant to IA Code Chapter 21.5.1(c). All voting in favor motion carried.

Motion by Hurt, seconded by Koehn to come out of closed session. All voting in favor motion carried.

The council directed City Clerk, Rachel Reed, to contact Jamie Adkins and inform him that there will be discussion and possible action regarding the development on the agenda for the regular meeting on August 20th and the council is requiring him to attend this meeting.

Motion by Patterson, seconded by Hurt to adjourn the meeting. All voting in favor motion carried.

Mayor, Kody Jurgens

City Clerk, Rachel Reed